what do you call a burning song

night is,
it is alone
telling me stories

only sounds, transferring into noise, flow in this melee,
i sit alone in this choking crowd
maddening sounds
some screeching, some soft, some loud, some confusing, some satisfied, some upset
i press my palms against my ears
wondering if i am getting carried in the flood of sounds
broken, splintering in these noises
there is no relief in these sounds anymore
it never happens that i see peace in a lane anymore
it never happens that i meet my mendicant anymore
it never happens that i get to realise my mendicant once ever

the sounds surround me, keep me tied up
they have plans to burn me to cinders
they call me out, a witch, a demoness, an immoral sinner
on a pyre gathered of my sins, i am to be cremated today on the fires of my desires
burning me up

a mirage it is all
then
why does it hurt
why do i weep
why am i

2 thoughts on “what do you call a burning song

Leave a Reply

